Oceanaic Evergreens

You broke into laughter when you saw me that day because you said I was darker than the bottom of the ocean

And scarier than what inhabits it
I looked over your shoulder whilst you looking over mine

And for one second, I could have sworn I saw the devil shaking your eyes

But when I asked you, you shed a new layer and then another and another

Until you unraveled on the floor like a kick to a ball of yarn
I got a shovel and scooped you into a pale, dumped the contents into my hair and rubbed your embers on my face

Because atleast then, I knew you were vulnerable

Atleast then, I knew you couldn’t walk away
Soaking you in like a ray of light

Basking in your evergreens and your forevers
I found a new home that day

Not in you

But through you

Leave a Reply

